The 2015 AMMCS-CAIMS Congress

Interdisciplinary AMMCS Conference Series

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada | June 7-12, 2015

AMMCS-CAIMS 2015 Awards and Prizes

Student Prize Winners

Poster session:

  1. Keegan Keplinger (University of Waterloo) - Switching dynamics in the Aplysia bag cell neuron
  2. Steven ten Holder (University of Waterloo) - Elimination of bacterial plasmids by engineered unilateral incompatibility

Special Session (SS) category:

  1. James McVittie (University of Toronto) - Viral Information Propagation
  2. Joshua Dunn (Western University) - The Emergence of Cooperative Breeding Systems with Resource Allocation

Special Session (ST) category:

  1. Alexandra Tcheng (McGill) - A fast-marching method for non-monotonically evolving fronts
  2. Bamdad Hosseini (Simon Fraser University) - Smooth regularizations of the Dirac delta distribution

Contributed Session (CS) category:

  1. Ben Fraser (Nipissing) - Persistent Homology for Analyzing Environmental Lake Monitoring Data
  2. Alena Antipova (Western University) - Dynamics of disc-shaped colloids in nematic liquid crystal

The AMMCS Kolmogorov-Wiener Prize for Young Researchers

Benjamin Adcock (Simon Fraser University) for his interdisciplinary work in mathematics centered on sampling theory and compressed sensing.

Award citation: Benjamin Adcock received his PhD from the University of Cambridge in 2010. After his graduation, he received NSERC and PIMS Postdoctoral Fellowships and was carrying his research at Simon Fraser University. In 2012 he joined Purdue University as an Assistant Professor. Since August 2014 he is on the faculty of mathematics at Simon Fraser University. Dr. Adcock’s research interests include applied and computational harmonic analysis, sampling theory, compressed sensing, as well as approximation theory and numerical analysis. He made original significant contributions to sampling theory and compressed sensing which have potential applications in the areas ranging from medical imaging to geophysical signal processing. At the time of the award, he has published twenty journal publications, most of which are in the top tier journals of his field. Dr. Adcock’s work bridges the gap between theory and practice by developing and applying highly innovative mathematical tools.

Student Travel Awards

  • Morgan Craig (University of Montreal)
  • Mohammad Hossain (Memorial University of NFLD)
  • Bamdad Hosseini (Simon Fraser University)
  • Sebastian Lindner (University of Calgary)
  • Anton Mosunov (University of Waterloo)
  • Louis-Xavier Proulx (University of Montreal)
  • Seda Arat (Virginia Tech)
  • Carlos Perez-Arancibia (Caltech)
  • Andrei Tarfula (Princeton)
  • Mariusz Bodzioch (University of Warmia - Poland)
  • Ali Iftikar (King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals - Saudi Arabia)
  • Mohammad Zafar (Indian Institute of Technology - India)